Hike 29: Recovery

July 23, 2011

It began innocently enough.

I was told I was low on iron. Low is, of course, a relative term. I was unable to meet the requirements for blood donation, though I was by no means below average. If I wanted to continue my habit of regularly depositing at the blood bank, I needed to take action. I was given several options. Iron supplements are reliable, but tend to cause nausea. Wanting to avoid unnecessary side effects, I chose the second recommendation given to me. Molasses, when taken regularly, can accomplish the task at hand.

How should said molasses to be consumed? By the spoonful? Over pancakes? No; I needed something more appealing. Cookies seemed to be precisely what the doctor ordered. And so it was that a week of binging from which I’m still recovering commenced.

A spoonful of sugar...

I knew precisely which recipe to use. The following is one that I had baked several times before. I was aware of the dangers associated with these particular delectables, but felt confident in my ability to resist consuming the entire batch. How we overestimate our mortal shells!

The cookie waits, knowing it is to soon be removed from its sterile environment.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cup of flour
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 1/2 cup of raw sugar (Any vegan sugar will do)
  • 2 teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2/3 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup of black strap molasses (unsulphured)
  • 1/2 cup of canola oil
  • 2/3 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips (dairy free)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl.
  3. Mix wet ingredients in other bowl.
  4. Combine all ingredients into one bowl.
  5. Form into balls and place on ungreased sheet pan with at least an inch between each ball.
  6. Cook for 11 minutes and take out to cool.
You can find the original recipe posted at the bottom of this page.*

My short, debilitating struggle with prescription cookies ended as my supply dwindled, but make no mistake: the temptation remains. Ever vigilant, I’ve returned to life. I am hopeful that remission will remain.

 

2 Responses to “Hike 29: Recovery”

  1. Izzy said

    I had no clue that molasses contained iron at all much less enough to help with low iron levels. I, too, suffer with rejections due to my iron level. I switched to a multi with iron but omg they make me nauseous.

Leave a comment